Shop finds 7/14: Crash Bandicoot, game collections, and weird Japanese imports.

Right, after I did the last shop finds, I wanted to visit a pawn shop that was in the area. Unfortunately it was closed since it was a Sunday. I decided to come back to that place on Thursday and see if it had anything good. Ooh boy. The shop felt like it overpriced a good chunk of stuff — NES games like Super Mario Bros. 3 were $15 with just the game — so it limited what I could get. I did snag a few good games, then went to another pawn shop several blocks further down and snagged some more games. I had $39 when I started. I now only have a single $1 bill. I probably paid far too much for a few of the things I bought, but I couldn’t help but grab them.

7/14/11 game haul

Right at the top is Crash Bandicoot (PS1). It doesn’t really need an introduction, but I’ll give it one anyway: A 3D mascot platformer developed by Naughty Dog and briefly was considered the face of the PlayStation, even showing up in ads to slam the competition. I had already picked up Crash 2: Cortex Strikes Back a while back, so it made sense naturally to get the first one for $6.

Under that is Die Hard Trilogy (PS1). Considered to be one of those licensed games that didn’t blow ass cheese, it was three game modes in one game: a third-person action game that loosely recreates Die Hard, a rail shooter that recreates Die Hard 2, and a driving stage that mimics the bomb defusal parts from Die Hard with a Vengeance. Heard it was a classic, probably worth playing. There’s apparently a sequel that did a unique story with the same “three separate game modes” gimmick but wasn’t very good. Paid $5 for this one.

Now to last-generation stuff. First, we got Return to Castle Wolfenstein: Tides of War, an Xbox port of the pretty awesome PC game. I’ve always been fascinated by console ports of PC games — I own several versions of Doom, for example — and this one was no different. Not only did it add some exclusive single-player missions, it also had two-player co-op and a shotgun weapon that’s not in the PC version. It also had online, which would be kinda cool if Microsoft didn’t shut down the original Xbox Live servers last year. It’s probably still an interesting version to look at for $5.

Next, Mega Man Anniversary Collection for the Xbox. I have only played 1-2 Mega Man games in my life, and only own the first NES game, complete with that godawful US cover that people constantly ridicule it for. I had been looking for Anniversary Collection for a while, and I could’ve chose any of the three versions as they all hold the same games — Mega Man 1 through 8, plus the rare “Power Battle” and “Power Fighters” arcade games — but I kinda got shafted on the bonus features. I get a bonus interview video, but I get an episode of the anime MegaMan NT Warrior. PS2 owners got the pilot episode of the Ruby-Spears Mega Man cartoon from the 80s instead. Shafted. Oh well, worth it to have the complete collection for $6 without having to hunt down the later Mega Man games, which are probably hard to find.

Spy Fiction needs an explanation. Anyone who’s been around the gaming circles may have heard of Deadly Premonition, a mediocre survival horror game themed loosely after Twin Peaks that became one of those cult hits last year. The designer, Hidetaka “SWERY65” Suehiro, lead designer on Deadly Premonition, worked on Spy Fiction, which was his first project as a director. Apparently it’s an interesting Metal Gear Solid knockoff. This was the most expensive at $10, but the game seems to have barely been used.

So, uh, Mobile Light Force 2. I could try to explain it, but I think MarzGurl of That Guy with the Glasses fame explains it better than I can. Basically it’s a bad American localization of some Japanese shootemup. Bought it more for the kitsch factor than anything else. $4.

Finally, Amplitude. Before there was Rock Band, before there was even Guitar Hero, Harmonix was making music games for Sony, starting with Frequency in 2001 and its followup Amplitude in 2003. Whereas Frequency had a lot of DJ and techno mixes in its soundtrack, Amplitude grabbed more famous rock and pop bands for its soundtrack. It basically worked like Rock Band in which you had to press buttons to the beat of an instrument, but you were playing the notes to more than one instrument, and could swap to any instrument at any time. Rock Band: Unplugged on the PSP is the spiritual successor to Frequency and Amplitude. This was also the cheapest of the lot, being in the clearance aisle at $2.

To wrap up the day, I decided to peruse a Wal-Mart and walked out with this:

EGM Mass Effect 3 cover

I had known Electronic Gaming Monthly was resurrected by original founder Steve Harris about a year or so ago, and the most recent gaming magazine I have, coincidentally, is the last one Ziff-Davis published in 2009 with X-Men Origins: Wolverine on the cover. Since I was shopping for other things, I decided to grab it, not just because of the Mass Effect 3 cover, but because it was the magazine’s 250th issue, and I’m a sucker for any magazine milestone issues. When I got home, I realized the pretty hefty $7 price tag on it. Yeesh. No wonder gaming print magazines are slowly dying.

With that, I have very little cash to work with for a while until August rolls around. This isn’t a bad thing as I’ll be camping for a weekend at the start of the month, and going to PAX in Seattle later in the month, giving me ample time to hold on to some cash and buy some more random shit.

About B.J. Brown

Just a guy in his twenties continuing his ventured tales on the internet by writing random but quirky things on my mind.

Posted on July 15, 2011, in Shop finds and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

