Supplement: Modern Warfare 2 “Crowning moments of awesome”

Over at Destructoid, I posted a reflection of Modern Warfare 2, one year later (EDIT 4/15/2011: The blog got removed after a site redesign. I’ll repost it here in the future.). It’s basically a “what I thought about the game” blog. It’s also somewhat timely as Black Ops comes out in a few weeks. In it, I mentioned that I started chronicling moments during the game where I actually felt like a badass or otherwise, but I decided to refrain posting it there as it felt like forum post fluff than anything.

So I’m slapping it on my personal blog. Enjoy. Heads up, there’s a bit of casual phrasing and abbreviating some things, so it’s a bit less informal than how I normally write:

9/22: right, so I’m playing Hardcore S&D on Derail. I decide to slap in my “Espionage” (read: Spy-like) class. Scavenger Pro, Cold-Blooded, Last Stand Pro. F2000 w/ ACOG, Deagle.

The score’s 3-2. We’re playing defense. In the last round, they planted (and successfully detonated) the bomb at Bombsite A. So I go to A this time (after going to B last round), and hide behind one of the shipping crates. I get one of the enemies pretty easily with the F2K. But the next part is what made a crowning moment of awesome.

I then peek out a bit, kill a guy running, then kill the bomber lying prone planting as he was in the same area, and then try to aim for the third guy in the distance. Unfortunately, he nails me and I go into Last Stand.

With my Deagle out, I pop a few shots and kill him. In that round alone I killed four guys when the best I did out of the previous rounds was one. And I won the match for our team. 😎

It’s too bad moments like that rarely happen with me in MW2, most of the time I just die a lot to harriers and shit. 😦

9/26: S&D, Skidrow. “Espionage” class again, except a SCAR suppressed and dual Berettas. Game’s 2-1. I decide to play it safe and camp in the area nearby where the offense spawns, and get two kills. Then I hear those dreaded words: “You’re the only one left. Complete the mission, soldier.” I get worried when this happens.

So I grab the bomb and plant at B. There’s like five guys left, I was the only guy who killed somebody at that point. Then they start poppin in one at a time, and I switch between the Berettas and the UMP I picked up off a dead soldier. I then kill the rest of the team. As a result, I got like one of the harder challenges easily.

We won the match 4-2. I was 8-0. That’s my best ever MW2 playing. And I’m a level 70 noob.

(Why do most of my crowning moments of awesome happen in S&D?)

10/17: Sabotage, Scrapyard. Default “Riot Control” class. Shield, akimbo PP2000s. Marathon, Hardline, Commando.

So I’m trying to finish up the Sabotage match challenge (50 wins). I decide to equip the Riot Shield class — one of the stock ones — just for laughs. And… I surprisingly do well with it. Given the fact that Scrapyard is a small map with a lot of closed areas makes it great for shield players. That, and the shield is one of those weapons nobody uses. It’s like being killed by that gun in a game that’s the outright shittiest weapon in the game. It’s a humiliation.

What surprised me about this is that I got the “Smasher” challenge completed (3 kill streak with riot shield without dying). I only killed one person with my PP2000s, and that was an asshole camped prone with the bomb.

There was a lot of back-and-forth planting and defusing, most of the time us doing the planting, and just when I wasn’t expecting it:

“Tactical Nuke, incoming!”

Ah yes, the dreaded Tac Nuke. I think this was my… seventh experience of a match ending in a tactical nuke. Thankfully it was from a guy on our side. Scratch 1 for that challenge.

Funny enough, I was 12-20 with a whole bunch of assists. It’s criminal that not many players use the shield, it’s probably one of the more amusing weapons in all of MW2. I bet a team consisted entirely of shields would be the best gimmick match ever.

About B.J. Brown

Just a guy in his twenties continuing his ventured tales on the internet by writing random but quirky things on my mind.

Posted on October 19, 2010, in Video Games and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

